Our Faculty

Faculty research and scholarship

Faculty and students in Falk College’s Public Health program are activity engaged in ongoing, nationally funded research projects. From disability studies and health policy, culturally competent care, maternal and infant health, infectious diseases and malaria prevention, and environmental toxicants to post-traumatic stress among Veterans and others, interventions to reduce gang violence and community trauma, and addictions services and treatment, our faculty engage in a wide variety of research impacting individuals, families and communities.

Meet our faculty

Dessa Bergen-Cico

Associate Professor
Public Health Program
dkbergen@syr.edu

James Byrne

Assistant Dean of Student Services
Public Health Program
jrbyrne@syr.edu

Luvenia Cowart

Professor of Practice
Public Health Program
lwcowart@syr.edu

Brooks B. Gump

Falk Family Endowed Professor
Public Health Program
bbgump@syr.edu

Ignatius N. Ijere

Associate Teaching Professor
Public Health Program
inijere@syr.edu

Brittany Kmush

Assistant Professor
Public Health Program
blkmush@syr.edu

Sandra D. Lane

Laura J. & L. Douglas Meredith Professor of Public Health & Anthropology
Public Health Program
sdlane@syr.edu

Eileen Lantier

Senior Associate Dean of Faculty, Curriculum, and Alumni

elantier@syr.edu

David Larsen

Assistant Professor
Public Health Program
dalarsen@syr.edu

Katherine McDonald

Professor
Public Health Program
kemcdona@syr.edu

Mary Ann Middlemiss

Professor Emerita
Public Health Program
mmiddlem@syr.edu

Lutchmie Narine

Associate Professor
Public Health Program
lnarine@syr.edu

Lisa Olson-Gugerty

Associate Teaching Professor
Public Health Program
lolsongu@syr.edu

Arthur Owora

Assistant Professor
Public Health Program
ahowora@syr.edu

Maureen Thompson

Associate Professor
Public Health Program
mlthomps@syr.edu

Our Professional Staff

Bryce Hruska

Research Assistant Professor
Public Health Program
bjhruska@syr.edu

Susan Scholl

Internship Placement Coordinator
Public Health Program
sascholl@syr.edu

Aylonna Whitney

Syracuse Lead Study Behavioral Assessor
Public Health Program
agwhitne@syr.edu