The Department of Child and Family Studies (CFS) honored 8 high-achieving students on April 25 at the inaugural induction of the Kappa Omicron Nu, Omicron Alpha Iota chapter honor society—the second induction of the national honor society program for CFS majors at Syracuse University. The mission of Kappa Omicron Nu is to develop empowered leaders who use an integrative approach to enhance quality of living through excellence in scholarship, leadership, and research. Students were selected on the basis of academic excellence in the major. The honor society’s purpose is to recognize and support academic excellence while promoting the ideals of service and leadership. Matthew Mulvaney, associate professor and Kappa Omicron Nu advisor, conducted the ceremony.

The students inducted into the honor society include: Sarah Benjamin, Jenna Chondris, Lexy Davis, Kendall DmochFagan, Emily Lord, Rebecca Rothstein, Rachel Zecher, and Emily Zimmerman.