Our Faculty

Faculty research and scholarship

Faculty from the Department of Human Development and Family Science have active, engaged research projects, many which span the globe. Topics include aging and intergenerational relations, mindfulness-based practices with children that reduce the negative impacts of stress and trauma, family development in cross-cultural contexts, determinants and outcomes of parenting, and father-child relationships across cultures, among many others.

Our faculty expertise includes early childhood education and care, lifespan development, and family studies and is complemented by interdisciplinary, cross-cultural and international scholarship and service. Faculty in Human Development and Family Science offer students tremendous opportunities for learning inside and outside of the classroom, including research projects, service learning opportunities and other scholarly endeavors.

Our Faculty

View books published by our faculty

Colleen Baish Cameron portrait

Colleen Baish Cameron

Professor of Practice, Human Development and Family Science
cabaish@syr.edu

D. Bruce Carter portrait

D. Bruce Carter

Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Science
dbcarter@syr.edu

Joseph P. Fanelli portrait

Joseph P. Fanelli

Teaching Professor, Human Development and Family Science, Marriage and Family Therapy
jpfanell@syr.edu

Alice Sterling Honig portrait

Alice Sterling Honig

Professor Emerita, Human Development and Family Science
ahonig@syr.edu

Eunjoo Jung portrait

Eunjoo Jung

Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Science
ejung03@syr.edu

Renie Kehres portrait

Renie Kehres

Professor of Practice, Human Development and Family Science
iekehres@syr.edu

Ambika Krishnakumar portrait

Ambika Krishnakumar

Professor, Human Development and Family Science
akrishna@syr.edu

Teresa MacDonald portrait

Teresa MacDonald

Teaching Professor, Human Development and Family Science, Sport Management
tmmacdon@syr.edu

Matthew K. Mulvaney portrait

Matthew K. Mulvaney

Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Science
mmulvane@syr.edu

Kamala Ramadoss portrait

Kamala Ramadoss

Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Science
kramados@syr.edu

Rachel Razza portrait

Rachel Razza

Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Science
rrazza@syr.edu

Jaipaul Lalla Roopnarine portrait

Jaipaul Lalla Roopnarine

Professor, Human Development and Family Science
jroopnar@syr.edu

Merril Silverstein portrait

Merril Silverstein

Marjorie Cantor Professor of Aging Studies, Human Development and Family Science
merrils@syr.edu

Margaret L. Usdansky portrait

Margaret L. Usdansky

Research Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Science
mlusdans@syr.edu

Our Professional Staff

Chandice Haste-Jackson portrait

Chandice Haste-Jackson

Internship Placement Coordinator, Human Development and Family Science
cmhaste@syr.edu