Our Faculty

Faculty research and scholarship

Faculty and students in Falk College’s School of Social Work undergraduate and graduate programs are actively engaged in ongoing, nationally funded research projects. Recent topics of funded projects include African American dementia caregivers support program; mental health services and crossover to justice system involvement; the economic security of disadvantaged and at-risk families through Social Security reform; and bullying and domestic partner violence. Syracuse University’s Aging Studies Institute (ASI) is a collaborative initiative of Falk College and the Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs.  Its mission is to coordinate and promote aging-related research, training, and outreach at Syracuse University and includes many faculty from the School of Social Work.

Meet our faculty

Keith A. Alford portrait

Keith A. Alford

School of Social Work Chair, School of Social Work
kalford@syr.edu

Maria T. Brown portrait

Maria T. Brown

Assistant Research Professor, School of Social Work
mbrown08@syr.edu

Paul Caldwell portrait

Paul Caldwell

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
pecaldwe@syr.edu

Ken Corvo portrait

Ken Corvo

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
kncorvo@syr.edu

Ellen deLara portrait

Ellen deLara

Associate Professor Emerita, School of Social Work
edelara@syr.edu

Alejandro Garcia portrait

Alejandro Garcia

Jocelyn Falk Endowed Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work
agarcia@syr.edu

Eric Kingson portrait

Eric Kingson

Professor, School of Social Work
erkingso@syr.edu

Karen Kirkhart portrait

Karen Kirkhart

Professor, School of Social Work
kirkhart@syr.edu

Tracey Musarra Marchese portrait

Tracey Musarra Marchese

Professor of Practice, School of Social Work
tcmarche@syr.edu

Kendra DeLoach McCutcheon portrait

Kendra DeLoach McCutcheon

Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
kmccutch@syr.edu

Deb Monahan portrait

Deb Monahan

Professor, School of Social Work
dmonahan@syr.edu

Nancy R. Mudrick portrait

Nancy R. Mudrick

Professor, School of Social Work
mudrick@syr.edu

Carrie J. Smith portrait

Carrie J. Smith

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
cjsmit04@syr.edu

Yvonne Smith portrait

Yvonne Smith

Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
ynsmith@syr.edu

Matthew C. Spitzmueller portrait

Matthew C. Spitzmueller

Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
mcspitzm@syr.edu

Bette Brown Thoreck portrait

Bette Brown Thoreck

Baccalaureate Program Director, School of Social Work
ebthorec@syr.edu

Our Professional Staff

Xenia Becher portrait

Xenia Becher

Internship Placement Coordinator, School of Social Work
xgbecher@syr.edu

Nadaya Brantley portrait

Nadaya Brantley

Internship Placement Coordinator, School of Social Work
nbrantle@syr.edu

Kristin Esposito portrait

Kristin Esposito

Internship Placement Coordinator, School of Social Work
kcesposi@syr.edu

Adrienne Renfroe portrait

Adrienne Renfroe

Coordinator of Graduate Admissions, Recruitment, Student Services, School of Social Work, Office of Admissions
alrenfro@syr.edu

Tracy Walker portrait

Tracy Walker

Director of Field Relations, School of Social Work
ttwalker@syr.edu